On Bees and Efs

Do you — or did you ever — have a Best Friend? Do you believe in the idea of one person whose friendship matters the most? Tell us a story about your BFF (or lack thereof).

In Response to On Bees and Efs

I like to think that I have had many Best Friends. Things happen though. You get older, people change, conflicts can arise. 

In Elementary School I had a few good friends. I spent all my time with these girls but there was one who I definitely identified as my best friend. I was at her house every weekend! We traveled together, went from thinking boys were gross to hanging pictures of them on our walls together, and she helped me get through my parents divorce. Of coarse we fought constantly, but we always got over it a few minutes later. While im not sure exactly what happened, I know our fights got a little worse and more hurtful as we grew older. It wasn’t fighting over games, it was fighting over friends and back stabbing. Calling each other very hurtful things. Middle school can be a very rough time. We still never stopped being best friends until high school came around. We ended up going to different schools and making different friends. The first year we would see each other like once a month, after that im not sure what exactly happened. Now we just like each others posts on Facebook and that is about as much contact as we have. 

In High School I never really had a best friend until I started dating my boyfriend. I didn’t know a single person at the school and was really quiet. I made the Varsity cheerleading squad my freshman year and even that didn’t get me many friends. None of the girls from my old cheerleading squads were on the team and they all knew each other already. I spent most of my time with these girls but I would hardly call them my friends. I had a couple other friends I spent time with but I didn’t necessarily enjoy spending my time with them either. Sophomore year rolls around and that is when I started dating Austin. I never knew what a good relationship was until I was with him. The absolute best relationship you can be in, is one with your best friend. We definitely didnt start out as best friends. I hardly knew him, he had AP world history and math class with me. He was the kid with long hair that carried around a guitar. But as I started spending the majority of my time with him, our interests became increasingly similar and eventually I related to him more than anyone else. He is absolutely my Best Friend and I am so thankful to have him in my life. 

About schmids1

22, college student, stuck in the rainy state of Florida
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

