Jobs

The thing that has been consuming about 85% of my thoughts this past month has been work. Specifically entry level jobs. While i have yet to graduate college, I will be doing so within a few months, and all I have to put on my resume is a fast food job and a job as an assistant nurse. You would think that at least the assistant nurse would help me out, considering my degree is public health, but it doesn’t. The type of career im looking for will most likely be one out of an office building, therefore I need office skills and experience. I figured hey, might as well get a head start and apply to entry level office jobs. Nope. Nope, nope, double nope, triple nope, no. Apparently entry level jobs no longer mean entry level. All of these jobs have requirements of at least 1-3 years of experience in an office setting, or such. The ones that do not say they require that, all email me saying there are people more qualified than I am. OF COARSE THERE ARE PEOPLE MORE QUALIFIED THAN ME! But isn’t this an ENTRY LEVEL JOB?!?! I might be wrong, but I thought that meant a job for people with little to no experience? Im pretty sure I have enough experience to be a receptionist.

So now my dilemma is this: If I cant even get an entry level office job, as a receptionist for example, how will I ever get a job in an office setting? Specifically a job that is not entry level, but one that my super fancy, expensive, college degree is suppose to help me get. I apply to at least ten receptionist/ administrative assistant/ front desk type jobs daily, and have yet to hear back from any. This is making me question my decision to go to college in the first place, and rack up thousands in debt. This is making me terrified of the future. My future. 

About schmids1

22, college student, stuck in the rainy state of Florida
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Jobs

  1. staciasymone says:

    Hey there,

    My suggestion would be to get in touch with a recruiter. This way, you can ask for feedback on your resume and any other advice to increase your chances of landing the job.

    -Staci

    Like

Leave a Reply

